thecraftymommyblog

Sometimes I'm the one who needs a time out

Tastes Just like Turkey Crockpot Recipe

on October 18, 2014

image So I love to cook. As dysfunctional as my childhood was the one thing my family did do right is having dinner at home as a family. I personally feel like as a mother and the wife of the house it is my job to cook dinner and have it ready for the family. Don’t get me wrong, the husband does cook, however this is something that I take personal pride in and it makes me feel good. To save time I often use the crockpot. Especially now that it is fall. There are so many delicious recipes out there and my family is my guinea pig.  Cooking_carrots


Untitled

Tastes Just LIke Turkey

A Crock Pot Recipe

<—– From My Favorite cookbook ever!

Crockpot Recipie1

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs. Hamburger Browned.
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Pepper
  • 2 – ten oz cans of of chicken soup
  • 1- ten oz can of celery soup
  • 4 scant cups of milk
  • 1 Large pkg. of bread stuffing or a large loaf of bread torn into pieces.

So if you are anything like me you are wondering what in the hell a scant of milk is? This just means “barely”  or not to pack full when you are cooking, so if you dont quite have four cups of milk… all is good 🙂  Also I used ground mild turkey sausage to add extra flavor….

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large buttered slow cooker.
  2. Cover. Cook on High 3 hours, or on low 6-8 Or high 3 hours.

imageThe Results?

well lets put it this way, far from pretty. However it works great as comfort food. However if you have a texture issue this may not be for you. Also it would be delicious over like toast? I however got home from work at 9pm and was to exhausted to care and the husband and kiddo were fed so I ate mine via paper bowl because that shit is classy! Will I make it again? Most likely however it would end up being a once a month meal because its pretty dense and again has a mushy texture. Although, I may top it off with fried onions next time to and that may bring the crunch that it is missing.

Leave a Reply

